I have been making weekly menus now for a few years but Annie has inspired me to share my routine and my weeks menu here also…

My weekly routine is to get up Saturday morning and look at the local flyers online and see what is on special and where… most of the time I go to two grocery stores. The stores that have cheaper prices (Super-C and Maxi) often have the nicest looking produce because their turnover is quicker but don’t have much in the way of choice or “speciality” foods… but the staples (flour, eggs, TP etc…) are much cheaper and it really makes a difference to take the effort to go to both types of stores…The other stores (IGA and Metro) are more expensive but have more choice and organic sections.

So the factors that go into my weekly menu are what we already have in the house, what is on special and what we feel like eating that week… I always try to choose at least 2 meals that are quick and easy for the nights that I just don’t feel like cooking or we have something planned and I always try to make sure that the suppers we eat on weekdays are things that have leftovers for Simon’s lunch the next day… though we are not vegetarian, I always have a few vegetarian meals because I enjoy it and I know that I don’t feel good eating meat too often.

After choosing the meals, I go through each item on my list and figure out what we already have and what we need and make my grocery list…

This weeks grocery bill came out to about 135$ (with a few staples)

Meals for the week (not in the order we will be eating them):

  • Steaks with grilled Asparagus and spinach salad
  • Crispy Tofu with Coconut Quinoa (the curried version of this)
  • “Quick Spaghetti” (bacon, onion, mushrooms, garlic etc on pasta for the guys and spinach for myself)
  • Pizza
  • Grilled veggie wraps with avocado-wasabi mayo and homemade tortillas
  • Creamy Broccoli soup
  • Bar-B-Barn ribs with veggies

(I really need to share more recipes!)

For breakfasts, lunches and snacks we have eggs, oatmeal, homemade bread, pancakes, croissants, crackers and cheese, fruit, veggies etc…

I will most likely be making some treats also…